top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSusan R Lin

Archives: 2015 was a blast!

In March 2016 I outlined some highlights from the past year, right before I went to my first Bordeaux en primeur campaign (tasting wines from barrel yet to be finished and destined for the next release). I had leapt into my wine studies in earnest, and was thrilled to be applying knowledge on the job. I am still learning, I am still thrilled, and I'm quite sure I always will be!


Highlights of the Year Past (March 2016)

It has been very exciting this past year (and a half), and I've been utterly remiss in updating here. My apologies! I am happy to report that:

  • I earned my WSET (Wine & Spirit Education Trust) Advanced Certification and embarked on the journey towards the WSET Diploma, which I hope to earn by the end of the year.

  • I am helping online retailer Belmont Wine Exchange expand the business and tailor product offerings.

  • I passed WSET teaching certification and now teach WSET courses - teaching keeps me sharp!

  • I help people, restaurants, and organizations create wine programs, pairings, and curate collections.

I have never been more thrilled to continue learning and sharing about one of the things I enjoy and love most - wine (and spirits ... and food)!


Most excitingly, I and Belmont Wine are participating in the Bordeaux En primeur for the first time this year, meaning we will be scoping out the 2015 vintage of Bordeaux wines before they're officially released. I am traveling to Bordeaux the first two weeks of April to see, meet, taste, and learn! I'll report regularly to share with you what I'm excited about. I can't wait! Be sure to check back.


In the meantime, I'd like to share with you some ... Highlights of the Year Past


Visiting Burgundy - this was way more than a year ago and is the reason I began this blog


Burgundy trip

Bottling Chardonnay at Marta's Vineyard in the Santa Cruz Mountains


Bottling Chardonnay - Marta's Vineyard

Meeting winemaker Aaron Pott


Aaron Pott at Pott Wine

Holding a 6 liter bottle for the first time


6L Montrachet

Managing Belmont Wine's first tradeshow, in Shanghai


Belmont Wine Shanghai Food & Wine Expo

Meeting winemaker Paul Hobbs


Paul Hobbs

Successfully removing a very squishy 1959 Lafite Rothschild cork


1959 Lafite Rothschild difficult cork

Throwing a tasting party featuring Bordeaux from Bernard Magrez (owner of Pape Clément and other fine producers) at Belmont Wine, with Lionel Labat and Ludovic Bristeau


Bernard Magrez at Belmont Wine

Meeting David and Carla Ramey of Ramey Wine


Ramey Wines

Sabering a bottle of bubbly (with a wushu sword) after passing WSET Diploma Unit 3 exam


Sabering bubbly to celebrate WSET Diploma Unit 3 Pass

Attending the Wine Spectator Grand Award party at The Plumed Horse restaurant in Saratoga, California - congratulations to Josh, Jeffrey, and Everyone on their achievement!


Plumed Horse WS Grand Spectator Award

It's wonderful to be back! I'll update soon about En primeurs in Bordeaux. Thank you for being here - it will be a great journey.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page